Look for the three crosses…

Rising out of bed this morning I felt like the Tin Man in need of some oil in my hinges.  By the time coffee was brewing and the dogs were relieved I felt a little more limber.

I did have a fairly active weekend, but there was a fair portion of it spent driving, too.

Saturday I drove to Hogansville (so happy it isn’t LaGrange anymore) to Amanda’s.  Amanda was supposed to go to work but Bella, her youngest, has been sick so she was home.  It was good, though, as she explained to me the shelves that needed to be installed, etc, and I got a tour of their new home.  It’s a beautiful country home nestled back in the woods with a large cleared yard, a front porch, and plenty of room for them.

It was fairly quick work to hang shelves in the closet, cut some new insert shelves for their pantry, sweat about 3 gallons, and load the fridge on the trailer (they cheat, they had a dolly there to put it on).  Refrigerators aren’t supposed to be laid down, I’ve always heard.  Internet research shows this is true, as if oil gets up one of the lines it can ‘be bad’.  Don’t know what ‘be bad’ means, exactly, but I don’t like to be bad.  Teresa showed me a picture on the internet that showed how to tell what side to lay the fridge down upon to make sure the ‘be bad’ doesn’t happen.  And since it is on the internet, it must be true.

The trailer is Teresa’s brother’s trailer, and it’s main purpose is for motorcycle transport.  Not hauling refrigerators.  It has no sides, really, and while it does have a high tail-gate for loading vehicles onto the trailer you also aren’t supposed to put heavy things on the back of trailers.  So many rules!

I think Teresa had a suggestion to just lean it rather than lay it, and this appealed to me as it wasn’t truly doing the rule-breaking ‘lay-it-down’, and yet with the lower center of gravity it would be manageable in the trailer.  It became a constant imagining in my brain, as I had visions of a leaning fridge in my brain the day and night before.  Lean it forward, towards the front?  Lean it backward, towards the back?  Aerodynamically what would be the best?  Over and on, in my head.  It was a nagging issue that would only be solved by doing it.

I took some stools down and we leaned it on those, but it was horribly unstable.  We took those out and leaned it on the railing of the trailer.  It was a nice compromise, actually.  Mostly leaned, but not completely laid, and stable.

But… there is always a but…. on the way home after about 5 of the 30+ miles of trailer-bouncing construction, the fridge decided it preferred to just lay all the way down, and I pulled over to tuck it in to stay right there for the rest of the trip.  Had I know I was going to lay it down I probably would have brought something to lay it upon, but alas I had nothing.

It made it home, I unloaded it (dolly-less, but it was easy), and stood it up.  ‘They’ also say whenever you lay a fridge down to leave it upright as long as you laid it down.   Teresa had been cleaning the garage freezer and emptied the garage fridge, so I just rolled it in and parked it.

Sunday was treehouse day, and yes I had been ruminating on how exactly the treehouse dismantling would go as well, and I was hoping I could remove the roof, then the walls, then the platform and put it in the trailer in reverse order.  Tom Suitt (Beth’s husband and one of the poker regulars) came over as a willing participant.  I had my wife ask his wife, so he had as much ‘willing’ as most men do when their wives are involved and they don’t have a direct and obvious excuse to get out of it.

But before he got there I was messing with our new garage fridge, and removed the ice-maker when a lightbulb popped into my head.  I wonder if this would work in our freezer?

A quick comparison showed very similar sizes, but different wiring.  I cut the wiring harness out of the old fridge, spliced it on the wiring harness of our kitchen fridge.  Only difference was a blue wire on the old fridge vs. a brown wire on the new fridge.  Blue starts with B, and so does Brown, so I figured I was good.

I plugged it in, and nothing happened immediately, which is probably a good thing as it was only halfway installed and any immediate water-flow would have been .. well, ‘bad’.

Now for the treehouse.

The directions were along the lines of "North on 400, turns into 115, it turns right, look for the three crosses on the left and turn right onto 283."

Using the landmark of ‘three crosses’ in Georgia is probably a lot like saying "turn right at the palm tree" in Florida.  We counted 5 instances of three crosses after we turned right on 115, and none of them had a 283 after it.  One set of three crosses that happened to be on the right did have a 284 after it, however, and the challenge became figuring out how to turn around on a Georgia country road with ditches on either side when you’re in a van towing a trailer.  It took another couple miles, but we managed it, turned around and turned on the correct road (noting that perhaps the directions took this into account because now the three crosses were on the left), and immediately missed the next turn.  Previously each turn was about 7-20 miles apart so this turn that happened to be about 250 feet from the other and took us by complete surprise.  Turn-around challenge #2.

We did eventually find the house.  Unfortunately I didn’t have the expertise to figure out how to dismantle that tree-house without just taking it apart virtually board by board, so I passed on the opportunity.  Another discouragement was the bed of freshly killed poison ivy underneath it.

Tom and I stopped for boiled peanuts on the way home in order to salvage something from the trip.  They were good.

When I got home I checked the ice compartment and (sound the heavenly trumpets) there was sparkly, fresh, automatically created ice.

So I got that going for me.  Which is nice.

Leave a Reply

