Embarking…

"Far better it is to dare mighty things, to win glorious triumphs even though checkered by failure, than to rank with those poor spirits who neither enjoy nor suffer much because they live in the gray twilight that knows neither victory nor defeat." 
  —  Theodore Roosevelt

I’m registered in a PMP certification exam study course.  PMP certification is ‘Project Management Professional’, and is a step towards my new ‘career’ as a project manager.  At the start of the course is a practice test.  I scored 53% on it, and I ran out of time due to interruptions.  The live test requires a score of 61%.  I have a high expectation of being able to get this accomplished.

I’ve been down this ‘certification’ road before, so it’s a familiar journey.  Most of my other certifications withered on the vine… hopefully this one will allow me to get a little momentum in my stalled career.  Finally something I’m actually motivated to do for my career!

I’ve booked time in my Outlook calendar over the next two weeks in order to make sure I have time to study.  I have a trip to Mexico City towards the end of March, but I have until the first week of April to finish the course so I have confidence.

In other news Aurora’s on her way home as I type.  As much as she likes staying when she gets tired she misses her Mommy and Daddy.  We watched a movie together last night, The Iron Giant.  Tyler was over playing on my computer but near the end he got into the movie enough that he came over and watched, too.

I’m reading Johnny Tremain (by Esther Forbes) to them at night.  I had never read the book before, but is about the life of an apprentice during Revolutionary times in Boston.  Tyler and Cameron are such good listeners when it’s reading time.  Tyler makes comments about the story line all the time… what he thinks the characters should and shouldn’t do.  I’m always impressed.

Leave a Reply

