Long time, no type

Haven’t been posting much lately, apologize for that.  Just had a rather slow weekend, and it’s Monday so I thought I’d drop in and update the blog.

Last weekend (not this past weekend) was birthday weekend, and the boys had a sleep over Friday night, another party Saturday afternoon and then a parent birthday was celebrated at a pool hall after that.  Teresa and I had a night to ourselves, and we went out to dinner.  We had fun at the pool hall the next night, too, hanging out with friends.  There was quite a crowd of characters at the pool hall.

One was the mohawk-no-belt-guy.  This dude’s mohawk spikes were about 6" high, but he had no belt so most of the night his rear was hanging out of his pants.  I’m not saying that because I could see the waistband of his underwear.  Literally, his rear was hanging OUT of his pants.  Now, I’m sure a lot of old people (of which I seem to be one) are like me, and just have no comprehension of how this can be a fashion statement of any sort, or even how it can be comfortable.  When I forget my belt and my pants slip down it drives me nuts.  Not because my butt is hanging out, but just because it is plain uncomfortable.  Plus at that point there is usually only one thing keeping them from going all the way down, but this is a family blog and I don’t want to discuss that (hint: it’s in front).  I guess the female counterpart to that fashion is the hip-hugger jeans, where when they crouch or bend over they reveal a bit of their hind-parts, but I don’t really mind that so much, for some reason.

I’ve decided that it can only go downhill from here, so I’ll stop the commentary on the people, but suffice it to say there was leather involved, and some alternate lifestyles, but not in the same person.  None of these were people we know, just the strangers in a bar.  We really should go out more.

Work last week kept me pretty busy as we’re trying to get the next phase of my project going, and it is a bit frustrating having to sit on the sidelines waiting for someone else to do something, or for the project to get to a certain point where you can do what you can do.  Maybe this is going to be a common thing for me in this role as project manager, where I’m not really in control of the work being done, just have to make sure it gets done. 

This weekend was rather slow compared to the last few.  It consisted of doing some more garage cleaning and clearing the yard of dog poop, and then Sunday was going through bins of game pieces that we’ve had for years, putting the pieces with the games, or getting rid of the games that we’ve lost too many of the pieces.  We had two large bins of pieces, and it was actually quite a lengthy task.  I did the smaller bin, and it took me all day and Teresa did the larger bin and thirty other things.  Typical.

Teresa and I had fallen into the routine that I spend the evenings/nights in the basement with the boys, and she watches TV and does e-mail upstairs.  I’ve been missing her quite a bit lately, so I decided to spend Saturday night upstairs with her, playing poker on my laptop.  Well, my Saturday night poker session was rather dispiriting.  I didn’t really end up losing too much, but it was just one of those nights where I couldn’t make my hands and it seemed everyone else did.   I don’t think it was very valuable night from a ‘let’s spend time together honey’ point of view.  I ended up coming downstairs to play some games where I get to shoot aliens and get some aggression out, and doing that until 4am.

Leave a Reply

