Nothing Funny Happened on the Way to the Basement

That’s right… nothing funny has happened since I’ve been sequestered in the basement since my return home.  It’s voluntary sequesterment as I go back to all my internet hang-outs and such.  Would you believe the first night I was at a total loss as to what to do?  It didn’t take me too long to get my stride, though.

Tonight I stumbled, though.  I spent about 90 minutes reading a thread (jargon alert: a ‘thread’ is a collection of messages all about the same topic in an internet forum) about how the planes and fires in the World Trade Centers weren’t the ‘real’ cause of it collapsing.   One fellow gave a very good analogy of the argument, and of internet arguments in general:

Person A: Gravity exists.
Person B: Not everywhere.
Person A: What?
Person B: Not on Pluto.
Person A: What the hell are you talking about?
Person B: Have you ever been to Pluto? I didn’t think so! We have no idea if there’s gravity there or not.
Person A: Well, it still orbits the sun.
Person B: You haven’t even seen Pluto.
Person A: Well, it’s pretty obvious that we have gravity here.
Person B: Who cares if we experience some local phenomenon? They don’t have it in Antarctica.
Person A: You gotta be [censored] me.
Person B: How else do you explain penguins?
Person A: What the hell do they have to do with gravity?
Person B: That’s exactly the question that I’m raising with the Pluto example!
Person A: So you’re trying to use penguins as another Pluto. I’ve seen penguins, and they obey gravity.
Person B: Please provide me with a mechanism for showing why a penguin that you’ve seen has anything to do with a penguin in Antarctica.
Person A: Ok. Now you’re just being retarded. Why are you so smug?
Person B: Why shouldn’t I be? You’re the one who can’t back up your unscientific beliefs.

If you didn’t understand that, that’s kind of the point.  It is terribly hard to argue with the trees while ignoring the forest, but people can do it on the internet.  Mind you, I wasn’t doing any arguing… I was just reading the arguing.  It’s funny the things these type of people ask others to answer, only to completely ignore the response and move on to another inane question.  ‘Funny’ in the sense that it kinda makes you want to hit them over the head with a crowbar.

While on vacation Teresa had me read a book about the chronically disorganized (Conquering Chronic Disorganization, by Judith Kolberg).  I didn’t take it as an insult the way some people might when they get recommended a book titled ‘XXX for Dummies’ thinking that the giver is insinuating they are a dummy.  I don’t feel chronically disogranized and none of the examples in the book describing the chronically disorganized resembled me.  I am a BIT disorganized, though, and the book had some wonderful suggestions for organizing the way YOU think, rather than the way someone else expects you to think.  I’m going to try to apply it on my work first… and see if I can’t come up with anything there.

I’m almost caught up in all my TiVo’ed shows.  Last week’s Poker After Dark was one of the best I’ve seen.. the theme was ‘Trash Talkers’ and it was obvious they had a good ole time.  I was watching High Stakes Poker but the boys came home and Tyler hadn’t played video games ALL DAY and so had to have his fix.

Leave a Reply

